Earth Loops And Goodness

by Q-Sign

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $4.99 USD




Q-Sign was formed by American Chris McKay and Irishman Tom O'Gorman on the banks of the Oconee River in Athens, Georgia in March of 1995.

Soon after, the duo had added Andy Ainsworth on lead guitar to the permanent lineup and had begun work on the songs that would be included on Earth Loop And Goodness. In fact, "Stay Away", "Pepper" and "Twist" were put together within the first 24 hours that O'Gorman and McKay were writing together and the majority of the album's songs were written within the first 2 weeks.

Brian Pridemore and Ken Slotkowski were the original rhythm section. Eventually, Michael Rietveld took over on drums from Brian and first Dave Chalfant, then Christine Reynolds played bass.

The core trio of Tom, Chris and Andy recorded Earth Loops And Goodness in the winter and spring of 1996 at The Jam Room in Columbia, South Carolina where the album was co-produced with Greg Davis.

Michael Rietveld played drums.

Q-Sign played regionally for a couple of years and earned the distinction of being named one of Musician Magazine's Best Unsigned Bands In America before founder Tom O'Gorman moved overseas.

The band's last live performance was on July 4, 1998 in front of 55,000 people in Atlanta, Georgia during the Peachtree Road Race and Q-Sign was seen on nearly all TV news coverage.

Chris' later band The Critical Darlings has taken up the mantle that was built by Q-Sign. In fact, both "Scared Of Myself" and "Down", which originally appear on this album, were on the debut Critical Darlings release.

The Critical Darlings have also performed the Q-Sign songs "Stay Away", "I Won't Stand Still", "She Walks", "Emotions To Free", "Pepper", "Someone's Trying To Tell Us Something", "Save It For Another Day" and "Twist".

Several songs that Q-Sign wrote for their never recorded second album have also been made Critical Darlings standards, including "Phony", "The Only Way", "Tonight Never Happened", "Give Up Town" and "Something Unseen".

So basically, this is the album that started it all.

For the first time, the 10 original songs from Earth Loops And Goodness are being released in download formats from standard mp3 to high resolution FLAC at for only $5 or $.75 per individual track.

This version also includes 3 outtakes from the sessions which have never seen official release including "She Walks", "Emotions To Free" and the band's cover of Free's "Oh I Wept".

A fourth bonus track of a 2009 remix of "Save It For Another Day" is also included.

Album artwork by Amanda Stahl.
Album photography by Frank DeFreese.


released July 13, 1996

Tom O'Gorman (Lead vocals, Backup Vocals, Piano, Hammond Organ, Wurlitzer, percussion)

Chris McKay (Guitar, Backup Vocals, Lead Vocals On "Scared Of Myself", Bass, Piano, Percussion)

Andy Ainsworth (Guitar, Solos, Hammond Organ Swipes, Percussion)

Michael Rietveld (Drums)

Recorded and Produced by Greg Davis And Q-Sign at The Jam Room In Columbia, South Carolina from January 15 - March 28, 1996)



all rights reserved